Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default staining shaped hoop pine - bruising appears

Hi this is my first post.
    I am a complete amateur working in a very limited space - my carport.
    I am currently making a 3 panel folding screen from hoop pine ( Araucaria cunninghamii). This light coloured timber needs to look more like Aust cedar to get the effect I would like.
    The problem I have is that any stain I use results in a very patchy appearance.
    I have sanded down to 1000 grit - then stained with both spirit or turps dyes only to have every scratch I thought had been sanded out reapear. I sanded out all those scratches and re-stained only to have the problem again. It seems like every ding the timber has ever had is remembered. The curves have exposed more end grain and also appear darker.
    So I sanded back and sealed the timber with a 50/50 turps/estapol mix. Then tried stain-varnish products. No matter how I apply them I get a very uneven finish. Also working in the open air dust is a major problem. Most of these experiments have benn carried on on only one panel or off cuts. Without a spray booth I may not be able to achieve my goal. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Hi Alwyn,

When staining timber, I've had great success with this method.

Sand the project to 400 grit all over, any exposed end grain areas get sanded to 800 grit.
    Clean all dust away thoroughly
    Apply two light coats of shellac (edit - I prefer to use White Shellac or dewaxed shellac)
    When dry, lightly cut back, clean all dust away
    Apply the stain as per the manufacturer's instructions
    Apply the finish, as per the manufacturer's instructions.

The use of the shellac helps to even out the take up of the stain by the timber.

Good luck!

cheers
    Wendy

Default staining shaped hoop pine - bruising appear

Thanks Wendy,