Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default problem with french polish

Hi,
    I am new to using forums so please be patient
    i have a small homebased restoration business and do my best to rescue working class antiques.
    although i am self taught i an not a "cowboy" and try to only use traditional materials and methods.
    now having got that out of the way to my problem.
    a year or so ago I fp a piece of walnut furniture for a client,
    the timber was stripped right back and properly neutlalised and prepared.
    a few weeks after delivery the client said the iten was blistering.
    I re did it
    same thing happened
    the client assures me that she is not useng anything odd to dust it and is not putting it in the sun.
    I read on a website a while back that this can be caused by bacteria or fungus in the timber but cant find the reference again.
    has anyone else heard of this and if so what can i do?

Thanks

Hi Astrid - Welcome to the forums.

Firstly......... Never trust a client or what they say they haven't done.

If you really want to get to the crux of the problem I need a bit of info. Heres a few quick questions that may give us an idea as to the problem.
    Did you notice if the blistering was in the same place as the last time?

Did you French polish with a rubber and use oil as a lubricant?

What oil did you use(if any)?

Did you properly remove all traces of the oil from the polish?

Did you just apply a heap of coat of shellac to the work with a brush?

Did you wax the surface as a final thing or use any other preparation on the final surface?

Did you sand before applying further coats of shellac?

If so what grade and type of abrasive and did you use a lubricant like soapy water or turpentine to aid in the sanding.

Was the polishing done inside or outside?