Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Garden Edging - mucked up ?

Hi all,

I've probably done all my design work the wrong way....
    Anyway, we just placed some lawn down in our backyard, now we want to place some limestone blocks down along the lawn to seperate it from our garden.
    Our lawn is a little undulating...
    Should we try and level out our lawn (i.e. dig out the soil underneath the lawn which we can lift up as it hasn't rooted yet) and make the edging completely level ?

Or can we have the edging slope with the curves of the lawn ?

I've placed the limestone down at the moment and looks a little funny if it's not level....

Thoughts?

As you can see I'm a complete novice!!

Thanks

Question of appearance more than anything else. Even retaining wall footings can be sloped if convenient, without any structural penalty. Caltrans (California Department of Transportation) allows about 5% IIRC, and that's in earthquake territory. Depending upon the amount of undulation, a stepped/level layout could also look odd. Could include both types if it reduces oddness.

Joe
    Of course truth is stranger than fiction.
    Fiction has to make sense. - Mark Twain

Make your edging fall at an even slope or rake. You can easily get the turf up by top dressing or a bit of lifting.
    The edging is your visual reference point so it has to flow evenly or else it will look like a dinosaurs backbone.

Default what i did in my backyard...

G'day,

I would lay down hose where you want your line of the limestone to be, mark the line, then cut back until you hit something solid (in my backyard it was 10cm until clay) then i would lay down a layer of crushed rock (about 3cm or so) and then lay down the limestone. you'll find that the crushed rock will help you even out the edging and it won't move as its effectivly been dug in.

best of luck.

Thanks all.