Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Unimat Lathe Wrong Rotation

Hello All , I'm really new to all this but I saw several notes by Gerhadt
    to Mick & I figure that Gerhadt can help me with this .

I have a Unimat Lathe ( small) that has started running in the wrong direction
    to what it normally does . Anti clockwise compared to clockwise which is normal . When i stripped the motor it smelt normal . There is a small
    Capacitor in the end housing that is connected across the Brush housings & a
    3 rd . lead to earth . I noticed that there is wax like substance coming from
    the Capacitor & leaking onto the housing .
    My Question is this-------- Could this Capacitor be defective ? & could it be the cause of the Wrong Direction of the motor. ?
    Also I can see the printing on the Cap & it reads------
    F*F in a Diamond shape then under that is-------
    N 1022 R1 & under that is--------
    0.01 uf + 2 x 2500 pf then a circle with a 'B' in it .
    under that is the rating of 240 Volts .
    " " " " No. 66.2
    " " " " " 560-2-7
    Gerhadt , you seem to know these things so can you tell me if I'm on the right track ?
    & Maybe where I can buy a Capacitor of that value , please
    Also the Capacitor physical Size is 34 mm long X 11 mm in Dia.
    Sure would be a BIG help to me it someone can help me with this one .
    Best regards from Ken Weekes in Mackay , Qld.

G'day Ken,
    Looks like the Capacitor has gone to dog!
    A Fault in that area could cause the motor to start in the wrong direction, and your best bet in Mackay is to suss out a motor rewinder or such, as they will know where to get the right Capacitor.

Question

Thanks for your reply , Noel ,
    My motor is small . Sewing machine size .
    I'm not sure that the motor rewinders here would be interested in looking at it