Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Edging-finishing benchtop, assistance please

Hi All,

I would like to ask you kindly woodwork lovers for advice how to finish the edge of the benchtop I made. I am a beginner, don't have an experience yet and many special tools possibly I need for what I'm doing.

Anyway, on pics you can see I used Tas Oak flooring boards (85x19mm) to build that benchtop; glued them together as they are and on top of 3 mm MDF. Because the room is not very big and the benchtop nearly entry door (on the left side on first pic) I cut it shape you can see. Now I can't use T-Oak timber strip to cover the edge (several attempts to bend some strips filed) as I was going to do if it was square table. Total length of that curve is about 1800mm.

Thanks,
    Ruslan

You might be able to buy a laminate strip or veneer.

http://www.homesite.com.au/diy/proje...ting-benches/1

Or thin down some Tassie Oak until your able to bend it around the bends. They don't look that tight.

HH.
    Always look on the bright side...

Default Benchtop edging

Welcome to the madhouse.
    As HH says very thin strips of Tas. Oak,a superior quality glue and some edge clamps.
    Steam the strips so they are more pliable. Steam so that you apply staem on the outside of an inwadr curve.
    Failing this you just call in an expert at great expense!

you can buy iron on laminate in oak. its very bendy and easy to put on
    trim it with a craft knife after you iron it on.
    Astrid

Hi Ruslan,
    As a beginner I don't think you'd have access to edge clamps and you would need several. Astrid's suggestion of iron on veneer has merit but one thing worries me. The photos show that much of the bench is end grain, which is notoriously difficult to glue.