Question What Type of Sander ?

Hi Would like to know what type of sander to use ie. Random Orbital, Belt,1/3 - 1/2 Sheet ?
    I Like to make different types of furniture,like the projects shown in Woodsmith & Aust.Woodworker.
    I only started about six months ago and am entirely self taught.I didn't know you could get 1200 grit sheets, is this for hand sanding or can you get this type for power sanders? Wire wool?? I thought this was for scrubbing dishes!! Please enlighten me on this and anything that may be useful to achieving a professional look.
    Thanks

G'day Nuggett - I see you got it working OK.

Random orbital but don't buy a cheap one get a good one like Festo. You can get grits way above 1200 grit but using anything over 2000 grit on timber is a waste. Actually once you get up over 1200 grit it is very hard to tell the difference on all but the hardest and denses timbers. These finer grits can be used by hand or on a sander. The finer grits over 1200 are usually wet and dry paper (black) with the finest and best in Australia being made by the better manufacturers like Hermes snd SIA.

Never use steel (wire) wool on raw timber save it for use on metal or polished surfaces. It can also be used as the final cleaning abrasive when stripping furniture, but don't use it as a step in the sanding process, especially with tannin rich timbers like oak, mahocany and most Australian hardwoods.

If you use it with some oil finishes like Danish Oil it can heat up to the point of combustion, and has been linked to a number of workshop fires. It can also take off a finger or strip the flesh off to the bone if it catches on turned work and will give very nasty cuts if it is torn apart instead of cut.

For lots more info on sanding and most other finishing stuff try A Polishers Handbook

Hope this is of help to you.

Cheers - Neil
    KEEP A LID ON THE GARBAGE... Report spam, scams, and inappropriate posts, PMs and Blogs.