Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default coffee table finish

I have been reading through several of the threads here before joining, looking for some tips on finishing a woodwork project I have just built:

Let me get the excuses out the way, I am no expert at woodwork nor photography. I really only noticed the contrast in one strip on the top after the photo shoot. And ok there are a few gaps. The nail hole came with the decking.

It looks like a bar stool but is actually supposed to be a coffee table to go between two recliners (me getting old and all) so the application involves coffee, wine and beer spills, heat, the odd contact with the Wii mote.

The top is merbau from decking around the house - extremely well seasoned and the legs are meranti (the denser stuff, not the balsa wood type) which I have had kicking around in the garage forever.

So far I have sanded it to about 180 grit and was starting to think how I might finish it (the top in particular). I have read a few threads on ubeaut shellac and was starting to warm to the idea but then I saw some examples of automotive acrylic lacquer (eg https://www.woodworkforums.com/f9/san...9/#post1093399) and loved the gloss. Since I already have some A/L and can spray it, that is attractive to me, however I have never used it on timber.

Having said that I wasn't necessarily after a high gloss finish, and given the application, I wonder if a more satiny finish might be the go and not show dings as obviously.

If I go down the acrylic lacquer path - what kind of prep would be necessary for the timber (say the PPG sanding sealer mentioned on another thread)?

In any case, I don't want those white rings you get on some finishes when you put a hot mug on it.

Any suggestions will be gratefully sifted through.

cheers