Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Finishing the finish...??

OK, to start with I am confused. I am a beginner and have learnt an awful lot of information from the informative posts on this forum but it's also done the opposite and confused me no end.

I am finishing a teak coffee table and I am using the satin Wipe on Poly with great results so far. But where the confusion lies is how to finish the finish?

The WOP is looking great but after each coat I can see there are some minor blemishes and swirl marks in the surface which appear to have come from the process of applying the last coat of WOP regardless of how careful I am.

I've spent days searching and reading the various posts and I'm getting a lot of conflicting information? Some people have said that I should use a combination of EEE and Traditional wax, just plain Traditional Wax, or even using a cut and polish from an auto shop??

I'm not after a mirror finish which is why I went for the sation WOP in the first place, but I'm needing some advice as to how to just clean up the finish? Appreciate any advice!

Anyone???

It sometimes takes a few days, especially after a woodworking show as we are too busy unwinding , to get an answer and I doubt that many would use the WOP. Also Neil is busy shifting to a new factory.

Earlier this year I restored an old pine dining table, which was stained and lacquered. Some parts of the top had been badly scratched so I had to sand the top to get it smooth.

I then applied a spirit stain to the damaged part to match and for a finish I used MinWax clear gloss wipe on poly.

I applied 7 coats over 7 days. Between each coat I gave it a light rub back with 0000 steel wool to remove any blemish in the coat and as a base for the next coat. After the 7 coats I was really happy with the shine so I finished it of with Ubeaut's traditional wax.