Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Question about apprenticeships

If you have a four year apprenticeship how much of that time do you spend at a tafe and when do you really start doing your job.
    Thanks David
    giveitagoturning @hotmail.com

in Vic trade school is 24 weeks total

Generally you go to TAFE/trade school for 6 weeks over the course of a year, for a week at a time at regular intervals. You're at your job from day 1 of the apprenticeship, but whether you're actually doing your job or sweeping floors and being sent to get striped paint is a whole other story

When i was an apprentice it was night school twice a week for two years.
    we started doing small jobs at about age 18. ( Boilermaker )

It's been my experience that you learn more when you finish your apprenticeship than during it.
    Don't be afraid to question anything you don't understand.

Get your own wirenetting oil can and cap full of nail holes.
    Cheers Fred

The difference between light and hard is that you can sleep with the light on.
    http://www.redbubble.com/people/fredsmi ... t_creative"

Updated 26 April 2010
    http://sites.google.com/site/pomfred/

Quote Originally Posted by fenderbelly View Post

Get your own wirenetting oil can and cap full of nail holes.
    And left-handed screw-driver
    Tom

"It's good enough" is low aim

When I did my Carpentry and Joinery Coarse during the early 70s I went to TAFE for a full day once a week for 3 years. While working as an apprentice. The final year (4 years) no Tafe just on the job experience This was in Sydney (Bigger population)