Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Novice in desperate need of help!!

Hi there

I am in quite a state. I have a whole house of skirting boards, doors and architraves (vic ash) to stain, and I have no idea what product to use. My main concern is ease of use - I have NEVER done this before and have a terrible feeling I'm going to stuff it up.

I thought I would use a Stain and Varnish in one (eg Cabots) but after reading other posts on this forum, it seems the quality is a bit lacking. Also it is only available in 1 litre tins and I will need lots.

So now I am looking at Cabots Interior Stain, but I'm worried about the application method, and wiping off with a cloth. I'm sure when I do it, the finish will be patchy. I was planning to use CFP or Carbothane as the top coat in gloss. I'm looking at a darkish stain, perhaps Cedar or Australian Jarrah if we are looking at the Cabots Interior Stain colours.

So my questions are:

- for a complete novice like me, what is my safest bet for a good quality finish - will I be able to use a straight stain without it looking patchy and horrible or am I better off using a Stain and Varnish product;
    - what are the tricks of the trade in application. Can someone give me a "Staining for Dummies" guide
    - do I use a sealer first (eg Proofseal) to get a more uniform finish, or will that hinder the stain....)

I've got a lot of work ahead of me but I'm being realistic and I think it will probably take me 12 months to do it.

Any advice greatly appreciated. I feel like I'm clambouring around in the darkness at the moment!

Roddy

Quote Originally Posted by roddy View Post
    Hi there

I am in quite a state.
    Roddy

Yeah Victoria - That is quite a state

Roddy, are the skirtings etc already installed, or yet to be? If not an Oil Based stain and then sprayed with Wattyl Tung Oil is what I did and very pleased with the result.

regards