Default distressed timber coffee table repair

Hi, I've recently purchased this coffee table 2nd hand. It's an Indonesian style with distressed timber. There are three deep gouges in the table which I'd like to patch up. The gouges had some soft material possibly wood rot or previous filling job (not sure as I'm quite new to this). As they are quite deep I'd like to fill them slightly but not level and finish it in a way to be a part of the distressed look the table has.
    Does anyone have any suggestions how I could do this? Or if they think another option would be better.
    Thanks in advance Lawrie
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hi, i think I'll just patch them up using some timbermate walnut colour. Any any suggestions how i should finish after applying to get a grainy look rather than just flush (flat) with the table surface?
    Another question... As a complete newby, I'm not sure how should i care for the table or even know what finish it has.
    (perhaps this post is more appropriate in the finishing section?)

I'm no expert but I don't like using TimberMate on anything larger than a crack. Large fill areas remain softer than the surrounding wood and Teak is hard stuff, so it is eventually going to get damaged or get scraped and come out. Have you considered using epoxy and dyeing it with a black or dark brown dye. It will then just look like old sap but will be hard.

Once completed, a teak table can be simply wiped with a few coasts of Teak Oil. Make sure to wipe off any excess between coats. Most Indonesian furniture is treated that way in the first place at least, all the stuff I have.

Hi Lawrie,I am very familiar with this Indonesian furniture as I deal with it on an almost daily basis.
    The level of craftsmanship varies from excellent to unbelievably shoddy.