Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Questions re Plain Headstock Bearings and Way wear

I'm new to all this so have a couple of real newbie questions
    How does one determine bearing wear with plain headstock bearings and how can worn bearings be put right. Recently I was talking to a machinist with a preference for taper roller bearings saying plain bearings were no good(not trying to upset anyone here), but I think plain bearings would be more common, so can worn plain bearings be put right and how does one go about it.
    Also how does one determine if way wear is excessive he said wear can be determined by feeling the difference between lightly and frequently used sections but how much is to much and how to put it right. I've heard about scraping but have no idea how to go about it or even if a tyro shoud attempt it.
    First post BTW I'm thinking of having a bash at model engineering, my preference is a classic lathe in good nick rather than new chinese.

firstly welcome to our forum. just a few words on my background with lathes, my first one was a 1955 hercus c model lathe plain bearing no power feed just screw cutting with maual change gears. I measured head play etc with a dial test indicator, removed a couple of spacer shims to tighten it up a little ( it got too hot then) so i put them back didnt know how to check bed wear whats that ??. my first go at turning a piece of steel that was a garden stake turned out like a round file lines evry where... what have i done.... this is a piece of junk the handles are all sloppy ( back lash )ah i learnt if you tighten the apron lock till it will just move then slide it full lenght that will tell you howmuch bed wear