Default Do you scrape lacquer?

I have just been reading Tage Frid's 3 volume collection on woodworking. At the end of volume 2 he talks about finishing using NC lacquer. He suggests, rather than using sandpaper (or rather wet and dry used wet), between coats the surface should be scraped with a cabinet scraper (you know, a piece of thin steel with a hooked burr pulled across the work).

It seems to make sense and accord with my experience with using scrapers rather than sandpaper on the raw timber - it certainly gives a much better surface in that application. But before I give this a go, I just wondered if anyone else had tried this and if so, what the results were like and whether there are any wothwhile tips.
    Cheers

Jeremy
    If it were done when 'tis done, then 'twere well it were done quickly

Melbourne Outer East right next to mount dande

i am no expert but no way would tackle a lacquered surface with a scraper unless i wanted to rip it all off and start again - i will however stand corrected

also i never got the beatifull sheen i get with fine abrasives with a scraper - at best its a tool to prep before initial sealing - if you know how to use it and its set up right
    ray c
    dunno what's more fun, buyin' the tools or usin' em'

I use the green kitchen scouring pads between coats, just lightly.

I know it seems counterintuitive (love that word ), but Tage Frid was "da Man" in USA and if he says it can be done and works better, then there may well be something in it.

I will give it a go and report back.
    Cheers

Jeremy
    If it were done when 'tis done, then 'twere well it were done quickly