Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default pergola fascia fixing - newbie

Hi everyone, im just a newbie to all of this and would like some info on putting up a pergola. basically the pergola is going to be roughly 3m by 7-8 mrts in measurement with a pitch roof and is going to covered with some sort of laserlite. I have colourbond fascias currently and have noticed that when i lift the roof tiles, that there is a gap between the end of the roof rafter and the fascia. I have bought the pergola design book from bunnings which helps and have researched also. My questions are:

1. Fixing of the pitch roof to the fascia - someone has suggested simply popriveting the joist hangers into the fascia and that would be safe as houses. I am not sure about that!. Could i simply attach a piece of timber onto the end of the rafter in the roof to get it touching the fascia so then i could attach a ledger timber beam onto the fascia which then i could attach the pitched roof onto? Is that the best way to go for me?

2. Since i am putting the posts up against the existing colourbond posts of my fence so it looks neater i have had to dig up around the old post as far as i can go, but depth wise im only 250mm deep but 350mm in lenght and width. Been told to simply fill the hole with concrete and put a post bracket onto it, instead of using a post stirrup and stickm that into the wet concrete.

Any advise would be of great assistance. Sorry if i seem a little on the amateur side.

Default Facia fixing

Welcome to the madhouse. Ozizu.

Quote Originally Posted by ozizu View Post