Default New floorig onto joists or overlay onto existing baltic pine?

Hi,

I am new to weatherboard houses on stumps, coming from brick and tile on concrete in Perth, and have found this forum really useful to increase my understanding. I am now getting conflicting advice on replacing our floor by nailing to joists or by overlaying what is there and would appreciate advice.

We have had to go through our exisiting baltic pine floor to restump, and have had a couple of quotes on patching up versus replacing the whole thing with a hardwood (eg a remilled messmate blend). In the long run I'd prefer a hardwood floor so we will probably do that. But one guy has said we should rip up the remaining floor and secret nail the new floor straight to joists, and that there is no need for any kind of insulation under the floor as it doesn't make much difference. Another has said we are better overlaying the new floor (still proper timber) as it makes it more stable and provides insulation. They would screw plywood to the baltic pine then glue the new timber.

To what extent do more layers on the floor improve insulation? Is it a noticeable difference? Are there problems with overlaying? (can the wood "breathe" properly? What if something happens to the timber underneath?) Does it make a difference if the new floor is a remilled or a new plantation timber?

Thanks for any advice.

1. Baltic Pine? Not retrievable? It would make for a very nice floor, but it is a bit softer than most other floors.

2. Laying floor over existing floor plus a ply substrate would add another 30-40mm to your floor height, possibly throwing out your doors etc

3. If you have the chance to rip up the floor (keep as much as you can for other uses) as you can check out the condition of your joists, bearers and stumps and maybe do some maintenance work.

4. PM Studley on these forums for some more options for hardwood flooring, I did and am very happy with the result.