Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default white oil finish

Hello, I'm a student from Portugal. I'm working on a wood piece in white beech and I would like to finish this piece with an oil that mantain the original color of the wood. That means that I want the wood to be or, in the original color ( natural ) or if its possible to whitening the wood ( not with a paint but with an oil ).
    I'll share some images with the finish that I'm persuing.

http://www.kristensen.dk/media/48508/c6.jpg
    http://www.delaespada.com/data/Files...e878e0ee6d2080

thanks in advance,
    Best regards from Portugal

Hi There!

Oil finishes usually darken the wood. And the lightest you will get will be the same as if the wood was wet. White shellac will give the lightest finish! Or sprayed laquer, which you can matt down. Wood will also go darker where it is exposed to light! So might yellow over time anyway! Haven't worked in White beech though!
    anne-maria.
    T
    ea Lady

(White with none)
    Follow my little workshop/gallery on facebook. things of clay and wood.

Just looked at the pic of the wood.. That looks like it has been "limed". Don't know much about that!
    anne-maria.
    T
    ea Lady

(White with none)

Default white oil finish

You can use a white oil, the LIVOS Kunos white has the white pigments that actually get trapped in the pores of the timber. This then maintains its original sanded look. the product though has enough waxes and resins to seal it. do not sand the first coat too finely otherwise not much of the pigments with remain and then you won't achieve the lovely limed look.
    The product is a German product but it is available in Spain so maybe Portugal as well.
    White beech is popular in Europe. we had it on our floor in Switzerland and actually had it white oiled too......i personally do not like darker timbers on floors.