Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Water based spray painting

I wish to spray paint MDF with a water based primer. I need to do this from time to time.

I have never used a spray gun outfit before. I have a small compressor ( 2hp), and can borrow a bigger one no problem, and I have a 30 yr old nice spray gun that can be used for automotive finish that has never been used, and a cheap one that comes with the compressor.

Can anyone please advise the type of spray gun, and the type of paint that I need for this application? eg will normal water based primer be OK to spray?

I am particularly interested in how to clean the guns after spraying
    regards,

Dengy

Sorry cant be much help with air spraying I use a wagner airless spraygun ($99) for most of the stuff I do it allows me o put on a good thick coat not sure if you can do that with a spraygun it may just leech.

Learning to use a spraygun is the hard part short sweeping motions that's the way I do it, I dont aim for high quality I just do as much as I am happy with.

What I normally do is the following (this is for plywood):
    First undercoat spray as thick as the gun will let me.
    Sand
    2nd undercoat once again thick as the gun will let me.
    Sand
    Then The gloss coat, it seems to work well for me and keeps the wife happy.

Go get some sheets MDF and have a spray play its the only way to learn then you will find out what your finish will be like, you may be best to hand paint the undercoats with say a roller give it a good sand (prep is always key) then shoot your gloss.

With the right amount of prep you could even get away with a roller I have in years passed.

Good links well worth the read:

Is sanding sealer waterproof?

Painting MDF to a glossy finish

MDF Sealing, Priming and Painting - Advise Please
    I like to move it move it, I like to move it.