Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Plaster joint paper bubbling when wet!

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this, but I'm following the Boral guidlines on joining butt-joints. On one joint I have done I have found that the paper has bubbled and even with the second basecoat the bubbles are still visible.

The procedure I useed was:

-Filled recess with basecoat.
    -Placed paper tape on joint and smoothed out with trowel, ensuring no air was under the paper.
    -Added a second coat of basecoat over the top staight away.

After a few minutes I found that some parts of the paper had started to bubble, as if because one side of the paper was wetter than the other. (the plaster consistency was ok)

My question is: How can I aviod this happening?
    and, Is there anything I can do to fix it? the second basecoat didn't help. Do I need to rip the joint up?

Cheers

Hi McBrain

Have you had a read of Rod's web site ... it's very uesful and I think it covers exactly this from memory.

http://www.plasterbrokers.com.au/

Got it! Thanks.

I hope it's ok to reproduce this here for others' benefit?

Recessed Joins

Apart from being the strongest tape, it is also the most difficult to use for the casual DIY. The main difficulties experienced are bubbles showing up after painting or tape showing through the join, requiring the join to be over filled to hide the tape.
    Bubbles forming under the tape, is caused by either no base coat under the tape, or the base coat has not been applied consistently and has dried out in parts before the tape has been embedded.
    To avoid this, your mix needs to be a bit "wet", (not runny). Make sure you fill the rebate with base coat, ensure no board or dry spots appear before applying tape. Bed the tape into the recessed edge using a 5" or 6" joint knife.