Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Warping Wood

Default Warping Wood

I started with a Jarrah slab, 2" x 10' with rough edges.

On sunday resawed it and thicknessed it 210mmx20mm wood, and stacked it flat, on even pieces of wood.

Last night I noticed the start of the warp... its subtle but when it's already "dressed" I'm not happy jan.

Any pointers? Am I doing anything wrong? I bought it as dry, but should I get a moisture detector or does this happen with dry wood?

Default warping timber

I have limited experience with milling and then only with Paulownia. My guess is that the timber is not fully dry. Paulownia is unstable until it is completly dry and performs better if it is kln dried to 11% before it is dressed. Air drying does not appear to be enough to maintain wide stable planks.

Yes, it can happen with dry wood, since even "dry" wood has a certain amount of moisture in it. when you machined it, you provided a fresh surface which will then dry rapidly, causing the slight warping you have noticed. If you want to prevent it, you should machine it immediately before use (on both sides) and then finish as soon as possible. It will be especially noticeable if you have machined the "outside" face of a backsawn board.
    Cheers,
    Craig

Default Warping Wood

The side of the timber that has cupped is the drier side, it has shrunk or the other side has expanded, meaning it has taken in moisture, you have unequal conditions on each surface. If dressed and placed on a moist surface and a dry air flowing over the other surface will cause this to happen.It can happen to seasoned and green timber.
    Hope this helps

Had a sizeable piece of blackwood, 150mm x 2.4m x 40mm, which I needed to resaw into 2, as soon as I did it parted ways like the Red Sea. It's now waiting to get thrown out.