Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Spraying a stain

Hi all,

I'm building my son a bed and I'd like to stain it but would like to use a stain that I can spray on. I've never tried to spray it on before and I'm wondering if there is a certain type of stain etc that I need to use to spray it on - if so where could I buy it from best price etc in Western Sydney please?

I'm not exactly all that experienced with staining in general so any advise is much appreciated.

Thanks
    Geoff

Any paint, Stain or Varnish that can be thinned to the correct consistency will go through a spray gun.
    Dragonfly
    No-one suspects the dragonfly!

Thanks dr4gonfly.... Do you think I should get an all in one stain and varnsish to run through the spray gun or stain and then poly through the gun to finish it off?

Cheers
    Geoff

I'd always go with the stain first and make sure I had even coverage and colour before moving onto a finish, especially poly, once set you'd have problems if you did have blotches or uneven colour.
    Dragonfly
    No-one suspects the dragonfly!

Pine is prone to being blotchy, a thin coat of shellac before you stain will help with that. When spraying stain it is a good idea to have a brush handy to brush in any runs you may get. Apply very thin coats to avoid the runs if possible. Cot looks cool.
    Reality is no background music.
    Cheers John

Can anyone tell me if these spray guns are any good? I'm thinking of buying one to save pulling out the compressor when I want to spray.

I have a gravity feed spray gun but I'm wondering if these work better?

Thanks

hi mate