Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Carpal Tunnel Symptons and workarounds

I've suffered RSI for years due to playing the piano, typing and using a mouse. I've tried to be fairly careful of what I do, but have found that hand sanding has brought on CTS-like symptons. I cannot hammer or paint for very long, so tend to use rebates, dowels and screws more often than not.

The Questions:
    Does anyone suffer from Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (CTS), sore wrists and arms, Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI)? If so, have you changed your wood working habits so as to relieve the strain and pain? Have you found particular tools to be better than others? Have you made any jigs to help in your work?

PS - Yes - I've searched for previous postings and have found some good discussion and information there.

thanks
    RufflyRustic

I do sympathise. In my work as a Comms Tech I used to make a lot of data cables & ended up having my left middle finger sieze in the closed position on occasion. Very painful. Ended up having to have it operated on & haven't had any probs since.

Being a 10 finger typist and a computer user since they were invented (almost) I don't believe this has contributed. In this area, pay attention to the height of your chair and keyboard rest. Your elbows should be roughly equal the height of the keyboard so that your arms are level or at worst have a slight downward trend when typing. This is the ergonomically recommended position and it is actually quite comfortable.

Try that little change but if pain persists, I recommend Fosters Larger. Consume one can after the other till the symptoms subside then lie down and rest...

Cheers,
    Keith

Hi Rustic