Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Stripping back stained Tasmanian Oak to its natural colour

Hi All!

I'm hoping that all of these experienced members can help me out!

We have recently purchased a brand new Tasmanian Oak dining table which is just lacquered in its natural form. We have come across a Tasmanian Oak Hal stand which almost matches our dining table perfectly, however it has been stained quiet a dark colour.

I have just started researching and haven't had much luck as yet, however is it possible to completely strip/sand the stand back to its natural colours and lacquer?

Looking forward to hearing from you all soon

Kell

Hi Everyone!

After reading through some threads on here I realise I am a complete novice not even knowing where to start - however any feedback would be greatly appreciated so I know whether to buy this hall satnd or not.

Thank you

The answer probably starts with a lot of questions.

On the Hallstand you want to strip;

What is the finish over the top of the stain, do you know?
    what is the Stain base or how was it applied. In the Shellac, alcohol/ethanol spirit, or other?
    Has it penetrated the timber or is it 'sat' on top? The first you're stuck with, the latter can be removed.

Post as much detail as you can, photos with a few close-up might help as well.

But truthfully, it may require a strip down and or a visit to a professional.
    Dragonfly
    No-one suspects the dragonfly!

Hi dr4g0nfly,

Thank you so so much for your response.

From what I can see there is a lot more to it that I originally thought! We took a gamble and purchased the hall stand, so now to work out what to do and where to start.