Default Motor reversing help needed

Dear members,

I have just purchased a new 240V single phase reversible motor for my lathe, and a reversing drum switch, similar to a Dayton.

The lathe came without motor and controls.

I need some assistance in working out a schematic wiring diagram, showing the motor connections to the reversing switch and the mains.

I have attached a wiring diagram for the motor, and a wiring diagram of the reversing switch.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Merry Christmas,

Ken

Dear members,

I'm not an electrician's bootlace, but I think I may have figured out my own problem.

Please comment on the attached wiring diagram.

Ken

Default Check rotation requirements.

Ken, your wiring diag looks ok, except that the configuration labelled Forward is the reverse configuration shown on the motor supply diagram, and vice versa.

If need be you should be able to change this by connecting the yellow to terminal 4 and the blue to terminal 1 of the switch.

Does the reversing switch have a centre off position so that you can use it as FWD OFF REV, or do you need to add an ON OFF prior to the rewersing switch? Also have you considered a Knock Off style isolating switch in case of emegency?

It is essential that the motor cannot be reversed while running, as this is dangerous to the motor and the can throw the chuck, endangering the lathe, work and user. For this reason alone, I would consider some form of mechanical lockout for the reversing switch handle.

Hi Malb,

Thanks for your advice. I won't know which way the motor runs until I try it, so swapping the leads should fix that problem.

The switch does have a centre off position, I just didn't show it on the diagram.