Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Question spray lacquer-how many coats?

I am applying a spray lacquer to a fretwork clock. How do I know when I have applied enough coats?

Gidday Spring,

It's like love.... you'll know.

I'm not a lacquer expert, nor a finishing expert, so my response could well leave the experts shuddering, but here goes:

It really depends on the "look" you are trying to achieve.

If you want to get the glossy plastic-encapsulated look, use more coats and lay 'em on. Brightwork on boats typically gets five or eight coats of varnish over three of epoxy, and that's just the non-fanatics.

On the other hand, for Rocker's Z-spring chair we used about 5 light coats of satin. "About" because of the complex shapes, some got more, some got less. The chair will be rubbed out with steel wool and Ubeaut Traditional Wax, to give a "warm" natural(ish) feel and look.

I know some would say that we were wasting our time wiht lacquer, that we could have achieved the same with Oils or wipe on finishes, but not in a few hours one afternoon we couldn't.

I don't think I've answered your question, perhaps it would be best for you to experiment to get the look you are happy with?

cheers,

P

I'm not much of an expert, either, but in general I'd guess 5 coats would suffice. On fretwork, however, you might want less because the fine details could get lost in excessive buildup. Experimentation would be best, on a piece with the finest level of detail to match the fretwork, i.e. sharpest interior angles.

Joe
    Of course truth is stranger than fiction.
    Fiction has to make sense. - Mark Twain

Thanks guys

There is the other extreem.........quote a prominent member here "almost everything that goes out of my workshop gets two coats of nitro... thats all"

Thats the whole point of laquer....you can please yourself... It is a finish capable of a big variety of results all in the one can.