Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Thread: ali boat mods

Smile ali boat mods

Hi every one, happy new year.This is my first post and I am Just putting out some feelers I am rearranging my aluminium boat moving console etc new fuel tank.I have just started to ally weld with my mig and ran into some feed problems but slowly working it out.If anyone is interested in throwing in their 2 bobs worth on welding aluminium and boat building it would be nice to hear from you.
    Man is it hot today!
    Thanks Ray (raazor-j)
    I also dabble in timber will post some pics in album soon.

not that i am an expert welding ally with my mig as far as wire feed goes my welding lead is short approx 2 metres and keep it as straight as possible check that u are running the right feed roller for the wire this works for me no feed problems yet

Aluminium welds so differently to steel and though the manufacturers who sell the mig unit say their unit will weld aluminium there are so many factors one only has to get one wrong and it will likely cause problems.

What are the factors?

• Matching the filler wire to the base metal .In this particular case 5356 filler wire to match the marine grade aluminium.one reason is it is the correct metallurgic match,the other is that it is a stiffer wire.
    • Wire diam size is another.In most wire feeders which are push units any thing below .9mm diameter and you are asking for wire feed problems as it will birdnest at the slightest problem.
    • A teflon liner is a must to avoid friction which creates a load at the feed wheels and again a likely birdnest.
    • To minimise friction further keep the cable straight when welding, so friction is not generated when the wire rubs against the liner.
    • If you are really fair dinkum you may choose to cut the Mi g gun cable back to a minimum length.