Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Jewelry Armoire Finish Help

Hi folks, brand new to the forum and could use some advice. I'm taking on a new project which honestly may be a little out of my league but i welcome the challenge!

Im making my girlfriend a jewelry armoire. I'm a custom home finish carpenter with some limited experience building cabinetry and furniture, but when it comes to finish i'm green as the day is long. I did some staining and glazing in a cabinet shop and thats about it!

First off, its going to be a standing unit with small drawers and opening side panels. The entire thing will be pocket screwed for no visible fastening. I plan to use bubinga (the girlfriend fell in love when i showed her a piece) for the drawer fronts and possibly some other highlights, with the rest of the unit made of something cheaper than can take a nice dark stain.

I was thinking Alder would do the job with a dark walnut or maybe even ebony stain. I'll have to make some samples to get the right colors figured out but im set on dark and glossy with bubinga highlights.

I dont have any spraying equipment so im looking for a good hand-applied finish that will really make the bubinga pop. Ive heard mixed opinions on the various oils and waxes available and im just not really sure where to start.

Any advice about the finish or anything else about my project would be greatly appreciated, and i look forward to being part of the forum. Thanks!

A very easy to apply (and available in the US) solution is Minwax Wipe-on Polyurethane. Durable and forgiving (well, for a polyurethane). You can dye/stain the timber under it to your heart's content.

However...oils do have a charm all of their own - see this thread for more.... https://www.woodworkforums.com/f9/nee...nishes-160229/

Default Re: Jewelry Armoire Finish Help