Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Question Notching Bearers into posts

Hi, I'm a fitter by trade, so I'm new to working with timber and I'm building my first deck. It's 3600 x 4800 and only 300 off the ground and it will be under an existing pergola. I'm using 190 x 45 bearers with 190 x 45 joists hanging between the bearers on joist hangers.

Because all the timber I bought are 3600 long I'll need to join the bearers. I thought that notching the bearers into the posts would give these joins greater strength. My posts are 90 x 90, so I'm wondering how much I can notch into the posts. Is 40mm too much? Also, what type of joint is best, a scarf joint, lap joint or a simple butt joint? I'd really appreciate your help.

gday battyman & welcome -

what type of timber are you using? at what spacings are your joists and bearers? how are you fixing your posts into the ground?

the timber-framing-code makes no provision for 45mm wide bearers but don't be discouraged. it just means you need to get the engineer's certificate for your development approval

r's brynk
    "Man got the opposable thumb - woman got four opposable fingers." - Rowdy

Quote Originally Posted by brynk View Post
    gday battyman & welcome -

what type of timber are you using? at what spacings are your joists and bearers? how are you fixing your posts into the ground?

the timber-framing-code makes no provision for 45mm wide bearers but don't be discouraged. it just means you need to get the engineer's certificate for your development approval

r's brynk
    Thanks brynk.