Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Help! needed building a sturdy plinth for my new drill press

Hi! after ~30 years of service my small Betts GMF drill press has worn out. The best value replacement I could find was a Trade Tools bench press. It dwarfs the old one with the chuck some 30cm further from the bench top. I have to stand on a milk crate to centre the drill on the work piece.

I need to build a 600mm high plinth to mount it on. I figured; hard wood legs and frame, clad in 12mm ply for rigidity, with a truncated pyramid shape at the back and sides to give it a wide stance (maybe with a couple drawers built in). I don’t want to bolt it down. I want to sit it on rubber pads.

Trouble begins when I try to work out the joinery, it’s all compound angles. While I’ve got the compound drop saw to make the cuts, I’ve got no experience of this sort of joinery, nor any real idea of what joints or layout to use.

Help please! Has any one seen plans for something of similar shape or design that might get me started …

I think you've answered your own question, "truncated pyramid, clad in ply etc etc".

Lay the bits of wood out, clamp it when it look good and scribe your cut lines. You know you can do it!
    So many ideas........so little skill........

I'd suggest just making it a cube & putting some drawers in the base so you can store your drill press accessories in the top drawer (bits, vice, clamps etc) and use the bottom drawer/s to store hardware in plastic jars etc.