Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Looking for a good finish to use on keyrings

Hi,

I'm new to the world of woodturning and have began by turning up some small wooden keyrings, made of Huon Pine and another mystery wood. My question is what would be the best finish to use on these? I think a hard finish would be best because keyrings get knocked about.

I've been using CA on some I've already made but I was wondering if there was something easier because the fumes can get a bit overpowering when you are finishing a number of piecs at one time.

Any suggestions?

Cheers!

OK, I am biased but I don’t think you can go past natural oils as an option. Whilst it may not give you that hard exterior finish, it gives more of a natural look and feel to the rings.....plus no fumes, and if they end up in kids mouths, which at times they do, no problems at all.
    With a hard finish, once the coating is knocked, it’s there for good. Try it for yourself and see the difference.
    Livos Australia

<O</O

Hi Angela, I was thinking that with hardwood keyrings that something like organoil might be the way to go. However I'm also turning some out of soft wood such as Huon Pine which is easy to mark up so I might need to go with a harder finish with them but not sure of the best option outside CA.

Cheers.

HI HF,
    It all depends on what your priorities are really. I would though recommend to try a sample pot of the oil and see what it can do, especially if you have not tried it before. Try different products on different timbers and see what transpires....especially if you will continue to work with timber and not a one off project.
    Livos Australia

<O</O

the problem with most "natural oils" is that they either have no durability what so ever or they contain metalic driers which are far from non toxic even when cured.

so if you are concerned with kiddies sucking on stuff you have only one practical alternative and that is beetle ####...sorry shelac