Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Need professional advice for concrete floor

First: I am not a professional, therefore my question to you guys (even non profs, but experienced)

I need to get a concrete slab for my shed.
    The shed will be 18m x 6m

The shed builder suggested a 75mm floor, with a F53 mesh reinforcement.
    I started reading on te internet, and found out that a F53 is not standard for floors over 12m. ( http://www.standards.com.au/PDFTemp/.../3600/3610.pdf )

This is what I mentioned to the builder, and he went to the grano contractor to ask for advice. Now he gets back to me and says: "he advised that most commonly required for your area is 100mm slab with F53 mesh for your given size"

"My area" is the hills area near Chittering in WA, site is classified as a sand/clay/rocks site.

Do you guys agree with the 100mm floor? Or with the F53 mesh?

Any advice welcome.

Thanks,
    WoodEd

Woodyed,

You might like to give your local building inspector a call, most are helpfull and will give you recommendations for your area. Does the slab support the shed? or is the shed erected and then the floor poured. It does make a difference, you may need to stiffen the edge of the slab to support the structure. I'm not a professional but have done a few slabs for what it's worth and would probably not go under F72 with black plastic underneath as a moisture barrier. That said it depends on your area and a number of large prefab shed builders do provide minimum recommendations for the slabs under their sheds, but in the end you should have a permit and it needs to conform to local regs.

John

The difference between f53 and f72

F53= 5mm at 300mm intervals

F72= 7mm at 200mm intervals

The previous questions are important.

Will the slab support vehicles or heavy machinery?

I would personally go with at least 100mm slab and F72 and the plastic membrane.

I also may even order 30mpa concrete rather than 25mpa small additional cost.