Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default TAS Styx Rainforest Coffee table BURL

Hi
    Im new to forum and a Carpenter but I have never done anything like this before. I want to sand and finish this Burl I purchased on Wednesday. Any advice on it would be appreciated.
    Im still debating on whether to use Danish Oil or a Poly finish.
    I noticed last night that it is very dry 90mm thick in places and looks as if it would absorb tons of oil or poly which it looks like it needs.
    I want to use something that will protect it internally (absorb) but also protect it externally (provide a usable surface)
    Any thought advice apreciated.
    Tim

Nice to see something of beauty salvaged from the Styx. You might consider pouring on a small amount of epoxy first to soak into cracks and fill voids. Clear epoxy would let you put some colour like gold leaf in that void in the middle. Dark epoxy will high-light the grain. If it runs through or soaks in too much then you do a few more pours. Then sand from 60# through to 400# with the ROS or by hand, vacuuming examining and filling with epoxy as you go. Then change to 400# wet and dry and flood with burnishing oil, sand all over wet then 800# then wipe off and burnish with a bit of hessian. That would look alright. The oil and wet and dry will go up to 2000 grit and with burnishing you can get a luminous surface. And what type of tree did this burl come from anyway ?

Thanks Len, I didnt think anyone at all was going to reply. I wish I new what species it was, all I know is its Mountain Eucyliptus.
    Ive being working hard on it and got it to a very nice finish. I used a little oxalic acid on it in a premixed danish cleaner as it had a water stain in it, it did work although not completely.