Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Smile Water Noise Evaporative cooler

We have had an Evaporative cooler fitted for about 10 months it works fine, but the last day or 2 we have noticed a really loud whistle when the water is added, The water seems to be being added every 3 or 4 minutes (is this normal). I rang about the warranty, they are happy to come out but explained that if the fault is caused by water quality this is not covered under warranty and I will be charged $88.00 for the first 15 minuted and $20.00 for every 15 minutes after. As the unit is on a rather steep 2 story roof, I think it could take some time to diagnose and I fear I may be up for quite a sum of money if they decide it is not their fault.
    I am an electrician by trade and have worked on hydraulics and pneumatics and feel fairly confident I could track down the fault myself, but I will probably void my warranty by attempting to repair it myself.
    I am interested in the thoughts of people am I being paranoid thinking the repair company will try to make it my fault?
    does anyone have any idea what the fault may be (I am guessing a bit of foreign matter or a washer stuck in a valve somewhere).
    Is it likely I can easily fix it myself.
    The unit is a Coolbreeze D125
    I will be glad of any advice thanks in advance

There are two types of flush systems on swampies: constant loss or total dump.

If your system is a constant loss type, then the tap refilling @ 3 or 4 minutes intervals is normal. By "constant loss" I mean there's a small drain that constantly trickles to waste, the rate of trickle is usually controlled by a small set-&-forget tap in the better quality units.