Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Redgum table repair

I have to confess first of all that I only signed up to this forum to get help with a table I bought from ebay (yes I can hear your opinions already....haha).

I have built a few peices of furnature and done a little bit of basic box making but thats about as far as my woodworking skill goes. I am a fitter by trade and play with metal all day every day, I have a great admiration of everything timber, just lack some of the knowledge so this seams a good place to start.

So first off.. this table. Was advertised as needing restoration and that it had a warped top. Its a big size (about 1400 x 1400). Made of reclaimed redgum. It was probably a very fine table when new (the seller told me he paid $2000 for it about 7 years ago.. if he did, he was ripped off..either way, I picked it up for $100 so at the time of bidding I figured... it will, either be a nice buy or some expensive firewood, so took a gamble expecting the worst).

He said it started to move after about 2 years and then after 5 years it had reached its current state when he then put it inot storage.

Heres how it looks now

All four corners are buckled, one side much worse than the other...

It also has a cracked leg

This is stamped on the underside

This is how the top is held to the frame

My first problem I would like to attack is how to straighten up the top. There are no cracks at all and all the glued joins still look perfect. I have heard that it can be wetted and then clamped and tighten a bit each day... is it really as simple as that ?
    Should I use the frame as the source of clamping or use something more structural ?

If anyone can give some detailed help I would appreciate it very much.