Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Opinions on stainless kitchen appliances

Looking at up grading our kitchen oven, hotplate ,range hood just after feed back on stainless ,I have herd that it is hard to keep clean even the newer no finger print finish .Let me know in your reply if you have this type of cooking appliance or its an opinion any thoughts will help.

Zendo

As a chef I say go for stainless steel. But be aware that kitchen companies use a thin gauge S/S. I have recently upgraded my kitchen and we used 1.5 mm S/S and we are very happy with the outcome.

Yes it does 'finger up' quickly but to help slow this down we use a stainless steel polish, more of a spray and wipe style of application and we follow this with a thin film of oil, we use a commercially available one. But this does only slow the process down. A quick wipe with any cleaner will do the job not as well but will help.

We have a 900mm oven from Italy (IAG brand) it is S/S, dishwasher is brushed iridium, and our countertops are patini (a cheaper version of corian) it has seamless joins and we also used it as splashbacks too.

I think the most useful advice you can be given is BENCH SPACE you can never have too much and DRAWERS plenty of them. The only cupboard we have is under the sink.

Hope this helps

Pete

I reckon it depends on the style of kitchen. I like stainless appliances but the finger marks don't bother me at all. The non-marking variety looks like a silver paint finish to me, but I am sure there must be other stuff out there that works. Personally, I think major kitchen appliances are bloody outrageously expensive these days - saw one stove at the Melbourne home show - sure it was nice, but at $25,000 they can shove it....... just crazy.