Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Question Home made puttys

Gidday, I am an artist who needs to know how to make a fairly large quantity of a "maluable" type putty, not paste like. As most of you know it is'nt that cheap to buy. I am mostly interested in making a fine saw dust based one, using oil and PVA glue but it seems that all the timber mills I have contacted dont generate consistent quantities of fine saw dust, just fine shavings and all other sources such a hardware only have treated, unsafe dust. Could I use a powerful food proccessor to break down these shavings and would the Oil and glue idea work if I can make the dust?

Any response is greatly appreciated,

boucha.

boucha,
    not sure what you're trying to achieve (more info would be helpful) but usually it's either oil or PVA. Glaziers putty is a mix of whiting (calcium carbonate?) and linseed oil. You can make a "putty" of fine sawdust and PVA. This is usually mixed up on the job for filling holes or other stuff ups. I've found that it usually gets black stain in it and use a mix of sawdust and nitrocellulose lacquer or epoxy. I doubt that any of the sawdust mixes will give you anything you can work like a putty and certainly nothing lke the plasticity of clay. (I worked extensively in ceramics at art college). I've never tried sawdust and linseed oil but I doubt that it would give you a malleable mix, might be worth a try though.

Mick
    "If you need a machine today and don't buy it,

tomorrow you will have paid for it and not have it."

- Henry Ford 1938

If you need some fine sawdust I am sure there would be some handfuls in the bottom of my wide belt sander that would be suitable. It would be jarrah dust. Send me a PM if your interested.

Quote Originally Posted by boucha View Post
    Could I use a powerful food proccessor

Nah, not fine enough

The beatings will continue until morale improves.