Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default how would you finish that....

the top is made is NSW scented rosewood, the door/side rails and stiles are made from camphor laurel, the door/side panels and drawers are red carribeen (sorry don't know the spelling). Finally the front rail (under the doors) and the transversal board joining the 2 sides are made from yellow caribbeen.
    This is my first big project and thsi cabinet is intended to go in the lounge room
    I would like to know how you would finish it.
    I will not stain it because I want to keep the natural colours and patterns but I want to protect it.
    The top might have a vase on it so it should be a bit water proof in case somebody spills water
    otherwise its main usage will be storing plates, glasses, etc...
    Thanks for your help

Eric

ps: since I am also new to proper finishing, I don't want something too complicated to apply or something that needs lots of experience

Penetrol Wood Oil is my favourite, takes a few days to get the required number of coats but it's just a wipe on, let soak in a bit then wipe off technique that's pretty easy. If you can't find penetrol then I think Danish oil is similar but I haven't used any.
    Dan

Thumbs up

I agree with Dan. 5 to 6 coats of Danish oil will do. BTW it looks awesome Eric. Nice work.

is danish oil water resistant ? or at least a bit ?
    even if I have read many times about danish oil, what is it exactly ?is it oil/resin based, pure oil, etc.. ?

As mentioned previously, I want something a bit water resistant for the top
    Thanks

something else I forgot to mention
    The top, even if it is very smooth, is slightly uneven
    By uneven I mean: if you rub your hand on the surface, you can feel some slight ups and downs.
    There are not a lot but I have just read an article about oil finishes and although they seem to produce great result they might highlight these "ups" and "downs" in the wood and I would not want that to spoil the surface.