Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default White Paint in Teak's Pores

Hi everybody, I'm a rookie with woods...
    I just purchased on old house with old teak doors. The previous owner painted the doors with white color. Instead I wanted original teak look.
    I already used paint remover to removed 5 layers of the old paint. With the last layer, I already sanded down with 80grain, but I still can see the white paint in the pores and joint of the doors.
    What should I do?? How can I get rid of the the white paint completely?? I'm just afraid when I stain the door, I still can see the white paint in the pores...
    Please help....Any Suggestions & Recommendations ??
    Thank you very much for the help !!!
    Stephen

To get rid of the paint go heat gun and paint scraper to get most of the paint off. Then to lift it out of the grain coat with paint stripper - leave for 10 or 15 and scrub with steel wool (the kind you buy in the supermaket) and hot water...Then sand (starting with 80 and going down to at least 240)

This method works a treat for baltic pine - should work for other timbers

Pore and joints are a real headache.

I have used a variety of the following with paint stripper on pores and cracks.
    1) An old paint brush where you cut about 2/3 of the length of the bristles so they are stiffer than usual.
    2) For small areas, an old toothbrush - also cut off about half the length of the bristles.
    3) A very fine wire brush on a dremel.
    You may have to apply the paintstripper 5-6-7 times and use a lot of patience but it will eventually come out if the pores/cracks are shallow.