Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default who here understands the concept of condensation between roof sheeting and linings

imagine zincalume sitting on top of wool/foil blanket that sits on top of timber battens on top of 230 mm rafters. and then fixed to the underside of the rafters 35 mm ceing battens with either villaboard sheeting on a 5 degree pitch over a patio deck. so the roof space is about 300 mm... what is all the drama about condensation? is it supposed to wreck my ceiling or what ? and are drops of moisture supposed to form under or above the foil blanket? and if it forms on top and then is it sposed to run down the foil and into my gutter? and does this mean that i should glue and or tape my foil blanket joins to ensure no moisture gets down on to the top of my ceiling....i dont see many roofers careing enough to do that... i am a carpenter not a plasterer or roofer. i havent got a clue about this...need to get it right b4 i lay my own roof. hope someone can explain the best plan of attack to me...thanks

Post Thanks / Like

i just had a yarn with a derelict old builder friend of mine who told me to put the blanket down foil up so the cond between it and the roof sheeting runs straight into the gutter rather than into the wool insulation and wrecking it... and he told me to duct tape up the joins...think i have the situation under control but still of course keen to hear any more opinions

Post Thanks / Like

Blanket down foil up is the way I used to do it.
    Any condensation/roof leaks run straight off.
    Regards, Bob Thomas

www.wombatsawmill.com

Post Thanks / Like

I used to work for Lysaght and the correct way is to have the foil down over the battens and blanket up and the roof sheeting in contact with the blanket. Most old derelict builders don't know any thing about insulation and foil.