Default Decking on concrete, which deck direction?

Hi all.

I am new here. Quick introduction - I am from Sydney. I am an electrician/fridgy, but found my calling when I entered the audio visual installation industry 5 years ago. I really enjoy AV work, and have done some great projects over the years. If I can be of assistance, please feel free to message me.. I gave up A/C 5 years ago, and don't really have the tools, but still remember some of the knowledge...

I have been searching like crazy to get the info for my deck. I think I have sourced most info, and am awaiting delivery of the Deck and Pergola book.

I plan to build a deck off my concrete veranda approx 4.5 metres X 3.5 metres. The concrete veranda is 1200 deep, with a slight fall away from the house. I plan to lay the deck on battens on the veranda, a ledger attached to the house, and then galvonised post supports, etc. The battens on the veranda will be approx 60mm high, with approx 20mm decking.

The opposite side of the deck to the house will run at an angle of approx 35 degrees. I am in bushfire area, so will be using hardwood, and 5mm decking gaps.

Hopefully this isn't confusing - I don't have any drawings yet. I am looking for a CAD prog...

If the decking boards run perpandicular to the house:
    Advantages - I can have a joist running at the required 35 degree angle to finish the decking boards nicely at the other side.
    Negative - The battens on the concrete veranda will pool waterbehind the battens, causing issues.

If the decking runs parellel to the house:
    Advantages - water will drain away easily off the veranda. I could even use a gernie if necessary to clean.
    Disadvantages - With the other side at 35degrees, I won't have a joist along the edge to finish the decking boards.

There will be a roof on the deck which meets the house.

Although the highest point of the deck is below 900mm, I need an enclosed hand rail all around the edge for kids in the future.