PDA

View Full Version : About time

terraaustralis
13th December 2008, 12:05 PM
Hello to all Forum persons,

This 53 yr old Melbournite (early 1980's refugee from Bjelke-Petersen's Qld) thought it about time he posted his first post after being a member for a little while and a reader of the forum for several years.

Entirely self taught and as consequence very good at providing wood for the fire.
Father's tools consisted of: Hammer 1, pliers 1, screwdrivers 2, vice grips 1 and a lone gimlet. 'Lone' because I cannot recall any screws in the house that the gimlet could provide service for. I didn't know hardware stores existed until I was 19 - how pathetic is that - 19 and never been to church!
Not a good start you might say and thus woodworking was a complete mystery until the need to 'renovate' in my mid 30's with small family in tow. First project: a rabbit hutch! What more do you need to move on to a house I ask? After that it was the shed and then the house. Bought a triton III New Series, a big Makita and a Triton roller stand which I still have though the Series III now has the brilliant Triton saw.

Money being always siphoned off by SWMBO and her two trainees means beautiful expensive tools are my equivalent of "look but don't touch" Page 3. Thus I buy inexpensive and modify. I'm a tinkerer. I have learned that you can make cheap tools do remarkable things with a bit tinkering.
Love that forumite: Mr. Niki - a man after my own heart (though I do wish I had his engineering skills). I have a couple of slightly better items ( an Hitashi M12V sitting under my customized router table is a joy as is my Festo Rotax - but that's pretty much where it stops so far as the family jewels go).
I now have a reasonably well equipped workshop thanks to the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments and - until recently - a favourable exchange rate. Thankyou so much for the buzzer, the bandsaw and the drill press (these being large items I couldn't really hide from SWMBO).