PDA

View Full Version : Mortar mix over new concrete ???

Boofhead
26th December 2006, 09:43 PM
Hi all, This is my very first attempt to concrete a path and i am hoping someone can give me a bit of advice, i am nearly finished the path, i've stuffed up a bit with the colouring of the concrete mix creating a few differant shades of a grey colour, i was only able to do a small section at a time because of my health.
The majority of it come out smooth but have a couple of my sections that are rough as, i have some stones protruding up a bit from the surface and looks like s..t, so i am wondering if i can go over the complete job with a colored mortar mix to cover any imperfections and get one good shade of grey all over the job, i've got a couple of mates that will give me a hand so it will make sure that its all done on the same day.
So here are my questions;
Is that Bondrete stuff any good ? if so, if i went over the job with it ,then put a coloured mortar mix straight on top of the concrete would it hold ? the path is an outside one which will have to take all weather conditions.
Is there any other ways you could think of, besides what i have said ?
I would really appreciate any good advise
Thanks

Doughboy
26th December 2006, 09:48 PM
Boof

I am not sure about your success in this venture. I think that the thin coat of mortar would dry and crack, ending up looking like sheeite. Have you thought of gringing? Then perhaps you could paint with paving paint.

Other than these thoughts I am not sure but good luck with it all.

Pete

Boofhead
26th December 2006, 09:52 PM
Boof

I am not sure about your success in this venture. I think that the thin coat of mortar would dry and crack, ending up looking like sheeite. Have you thought of gringing? Then perhaps you could paint with paving paint.

Other than these thoughts I am not sure but good luck with it all.

Pete

Thanks mate for the reply, I did think of use that pavementp paint it but not sure what gringing means.