PDA

View Full Version : What do you do?

Green Woodchips
10th April 2006, 01:08 PM
Hi there.

I recently made a wedding present table for friends with a blackwood top and sassafras legs. I finished it off with a couple of coats of Minwax Rub-on Satin Poly.

Obviously, this has polyurethane in it.

Swelling with pride, I delivered the table around to my friends. First question they asked: "If we spill something on it, or get a mark on it, what's the best thing to do to get it off?" Stumped me -- I'm no expert on wood finishes.

So ... what DO you do when you get a coffee ring, watermark etc. on a blackwood top with a poly finish?

Any other comments on general care? Sunlight etc.?

Cheers,
GW

Dean
10th April 2006, 02:09 PM
http://web1.msue.msu.edu/imp/mod02/01500267.html

Wongo
10th April 2006, 02:21 PM
No wax no ring.:cool: It is polyU right? It is pretty strong so just clean it up with a cloth.

:)

Green Woodchips
10th April 2006, 02:41 PM
Thanks, guys.

The bottom line: poly is one tough finish.

Cheers,
GW

Hickory
11th April 2006, 03:08 AM
Poly applied correctly and if you didn't rub it all off when you polished it should hold up to what ever discusting thing a newly wed should do on their new table. :eek: Might add, a coat of paste wax would ensure protection from their passionate spills. :o

Wongo
11th April 2006, 10:21 AM
Might add, a coat of paste wax would ensure protection from their passionate spills. :o

I might be wrong but I am not so sure about the wax man. Wax does not protect the wood but poly does. Hot coffee cups on wax = rings and to me it is a no-no.

Hickory
11th April 2006, 10:46 AM