PDA

View Full Version : rendering vs bagging

mhills
1st April 2006, 10:52 PM
Hi,

I am a real novice. What is the difference between cement rendering and bagging of an exterior wall? Are the costs different?

We have a brick house that we want to render/bag on the exterior.

dazzler
1st April 2006, 11:09 PM
I think the difference is that rendering is put on with a float and looks real smooth and neat and bagging is but on with a hessian bag or something and is rough and ready.

From what Ive heard rendering is about 3 times the price of bagging but is the IN look at the moment.

Just paint it mission brown, thats gotta come back into vogue sooner or later:p

cheers

dazzler

mhills
1st April 2006, 11:17 PM
Thanks for the quick reply!

We are renovating a 1963 Petitt and Sevitt designed home, so we have plenty of mission brown already - hence the desire to render! We're in the bush in Sydney and think the render would blend in nicely with the surrounds.
:)

Terry1
2nd April 2006, 12:41 PM
Hello mhills,
I think you'll find that cement rendering is alot more expensive than cement bagging as the process,(applying,screeding off,trowelling off etc ) is much more involved .In my area it will cost you about $30sq mtr.Cement bagging used to be applied mainly with a hesssion bag or sponge but these days we often use a soft nylon broom and you can get it on the wall and finished pretty quickly.Putting coloured oxide into the mix is also very popular these days with the Tuscan style colours the pick of these.I think bagging would be in the skill range of quite a few handyman but cement rendering maybe not.

Skew ChiDAMN!!
2nd April 2006, 01:17 PM
Or another way of looking at it: rendering is to bagging what tiling is to painting.

One's adding a layer, the other's really just a quick coat.

Metal Head
23rd April 2006, 01:59 PM
Hi,