PDA

View Full Version : Seduced by the Wood Fairy...

fanlee
30th March 2006, 10:56 PM
I'm sure the experienced members will get a knowing chuckle out of this...

I've stained some mahogany guitar necks, given them a coat of shellac followed by a number of coats of hard shellac.

I've started to finish number one with a view to not making the same mistakes on the following two.

Sanded with 320 ,400,600,1200 with paraffin and then used meguair's Mirror Glaze 7 per a guitar book guide and then with Guitar Polish.

I mean I know I'm a newbie but it's like I've liberated something deep within the wood...does this make sense...it's awe inspiring...and so beautifully smooth...

Even though thoroughly captivated I've noticed that in one particular position under strong direct light I can see 'rub' marks. I assume that I should've done a finer rub/s after the 1200 grit. Is this the case?

What would members suggest I use afer the 1200 grit before the polish on the next jobs? 0000 steel wool, rottenstone?

I'm loathe to go back & try to eliminate the marks on neck #1 since I may cause more harm than good and I do NOT want (another) rub through.

I'm wondering how good it gets!! LOL!

All help greatly appreciated.

RobSm

ubeaut
31st March 2006, 09:11 AM
Don't jump from 600 to 1200 grit use 800 in between you may find it is as simple as that. You could also use 1500 and 2000 grit if you like. Best of all to remove rub marks in the surface of the finish, use EEE-Ultra Shine (http://www.ubeaut.com.au/eee.htm).

Why are you putting another finish over the hard shellac? Or am I reading the post wrong? If you are it could cause a problem down the track. Mixing finishes isn't a good thing as they can move at different rates and under different conditions which could cause crazing. Use one finish and if needed maybe some wax or oil as a last thing but even that probably shouldn't be necessary.

Cheers - Neil :)

CameronPotter
31st March 2006, 10:19 AM