PDA

View Full Version : for any doubters of EEE ultra shine

Rowan
24th March 2006, 08:17 AM
little story for any folks out there that may not be using EEE yet (produced by our esteemed host, from whom I recieve no gain for this plug)

Have a couple of weeks off and a market coming up so I decided to make a couple of coffee tables, and a couple of new burl bowls to have ready to go. Tables are Redgum burl slab top and mallee root base. Spent the first 3 days sanding the table tops all the way to 1200, and they both looked great. Then carved the bowls and sanded them. Then it was time to finish them off. I spray mirratone 60% gloss pre-cat laquer. Been about 6 months since I sprayed anything, and even then I am still learning but this time everything that could go wrong did. I sprayed the laquer too thick, with not enough pressure flowing and not enough liquid coming out. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :( Luckily I knew that I was getting it wrong and only sprayed the one table top, but was stubborn enough to keep going and gave it 4 coats of bad spray. :eek: Bottom line was that in the end I had a top that was so rough and pitted that I thought I would have to re-sand and spray again. But I had a mate come round and suggest I try cutting it back before I went to the trouble of re-sanding it. ;) So out with the 600 wet/dry and a good sand then I got out the "Ubeaut EEE ultra shine cream" and went for it. (I do use it regularly with anything turned, just hadn't thought of it for this type of job)

End product was a finish that was better than any spray job I have previously done and from here on in I will be using EEE after spraying all table tops.:D ;) :D ;) :D

SO FOR ANYONE OUT THERE LOOKING FOR THE PERFECT CUTTING COMPOUND LOOK NO FURTHER THAN "EEE ULTRA SHINE" - SUPPLIED BY OUR WONDERFUL HOST!!!!!

ubeaut
25th March 2006, 03:24 PM