PDA

View Full Version : Kitchen recommendations for a complete Newbie.

Mighty
1st March 2006, 11:08 AM
Hi All,

First post here, I've been having a read around though and am really impressed with the forum.

I'm pretty useless when it comes to using my hands woodworking etc, I'm anything but a handyman...

So here is my question:

My wife and I bought a house not long ago, our only problem with the house was the kitchen. While we like the layout of it, we hate the colours bright yellow and blue (see picture)

I talked to a couple of joinery places, they have said they'll need to completely replace the kitchen. Quotes for this job are in the range of 20k.

This is probably a bit more than we're wanting to pay for a mere colour change, so I'm looking for alternatives. Would I be able to get a good finish if I re-painted the cupboard doors myself and installed new handles etc.

The other query is the bench top... how to change the colour of that? I have heard of a system where a thin piece of slate can be cut to the size of the top and inserted over the original. Are there any other options for me you could recommend.

Thirdly, the floor. I was considering putting in a floating timber floor, but have heard some bad comments from a couple of people regarding them. Would you recommend tiles instead?

Any suggestions, advice, things I may not have thought of would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Matt

Zed
1st March 2006, 11:36 AM
looks pretty dated - you may want to replace....

however a joinery shop should be able to make new doors for you - assuming the hinges are the snap - off variety.... thaty can be measured precisely

the benchtop I have no idea....

cheers good luck

namtrak
1st March 2006, 11:47 AM
This is probably a bit more than we're wanting to pay for a mere colour change, so I'm looking for alternatives. Would I be able to get a good finish if I re-painted the cupboard doors myself and installed new handles etc..........