PDA

View Full Version : Jarrah finish

yoboseyo
22nd April 2020, 12:57 AM
I know there has been a few threads for this in the past, but I'm new to finishing so there's a lot to digest.

I'm finishing a jarrah indoor stand. I'm looking for something that's going to make the relatively uniform grain "pop". I don't have a preference between oil-based and water-based finishes. I haven't decided whether I want a matte or glossy finish, and if gloss is just a protective layer on top of another finish, I'd consider it. I'm after something relatively doable for a beginner, but I'm not adverse to learning.

Any recommendations?

havabeer69
22nd April 2020, 03:48 PM
odies oil. comes from american but is dead simple to use, you just rub the stuff in, and just wipe it off after and hour or so.

it doesn't "coat" the wood but soaks into it to protect, but comes up great.

yoboseyo
22nd April 2020, 07:04 PM
odies oil. comes from american but is dead simple to use, you just rub the stuff in, and just wipe it off after and hour or so.

it doesn't "coat" the wood but soaks into it to protect, but comes up great.Anything similar that is available locally? My research shows that's it's quite the one-size-fits-all solution, but it's just a mixture of different oils. Perhaps it can be made?

Also, is it glossy, or can become glossy with more coats, or do you have to put another protective layer on it?

LGS
22nd April 2020, 07:26 PM
You could consider Hard Burnishing Oil. It will give you a robust finish, with a semigloss shine, which can be bumped up to give a glossy finish. Looks good and makes the grain "pop". It involves using a Random Orbital Sander and several grits of sanding discs. The finish is highly resistant to stains, water, heat and wear and tear.

Regards,

Rob

barri
22nd April 2020, 07:45 PM
I know there has been a few threads for this in the past, but I'm new to finishing so there's a lot to digest.