PDA

View Full Version : Marri Dining Table

Marrinovice
5th December 2016, 10:23 PM
Hey friends,
So I have just Moved over to WA and thought it would be a great project to make a Marri slab dining table. I am a total novice but have managed to get all my cracks filled with west systems epoxy (well most), cut the timber to dimension and I have it sanded back to 240 at the moment.

The big question, how do i finish it? I love the glass look of the resin but after experimenting with filling the cracks I am nervous about attempting an entire clear coat. I have read elsewhere that some people use several coats of cabots exterior marine grade gloss and sand inbetween. would this be a better alternative? if so how many coats and what grain would i sand it back to?

also one last question some of the black resin i have sanded over has gone a dull grey will i need to use anything on that to bring it back to a glassy black or will that occur naturally with a higher grit paper?

any help would be very much appreciated here is a pic of where I am at so far thanks in advance for any advice :roll: (sorry cant seem to rotate image)

hurcorh
6th December 2016, 01:17 AM
Higher grit wet / dry paper will make the epoxy glossy again. Any oil based finish will look great. Nice work mate.

Marrinovice
6th December 2016, 03:24 PM
Thanks heaps mate!

Arron
6th December 2016, 04:54 PM
West system epoxy is not really self levelling, so you are right to be a bit nervous about it.

Check out Wattyl 7008 for a super-durable gloss finish which is easy to apply.

It's going to be a great looking table.

Cheers
Arron

LGS
6th December 2016, 05:30 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums.