PDA

View Full Version : Well, hello there.

Durdge39
19th August 2010, 10:52 PM
Hello all

I figured it was about time I posted one of these. I've lurked nearly every day for the last couple of years but post very little - I'm a bit shy, but hey, we're all different.
My name is Tom, I'm an aircraft maintenance engineer (apprentice as yet) for a family owned business in Nelson, Victoria - yes, as an SA'er it's hard to admit I work over the border in Mexico. In the past I was an IT techy and a yard hand.

My passion for wood has been on and off since I was at least 5-6, but within recent years has become much stronger and I have taken a bias toward the use of hand tools, except for my beloved bandsaw for resawing planks and ripping logs into manageable bits. Through my work I have practiced sheet metal, fabric, metal turning and basic milling. This has lead me to a fascination with almost any craft where I can create something. I enjoy fine details, sharp tools, and that constant desire to get something perfect - even when I am impatient and bugger it up. I hoard wood like a hermit, and have done some odd things to pursue free or cheap wood. I figure if you can't make anything out of it, you can still burn it in the winter! :D

When my life settles down a bit and more time makes itself available, I plan to begin creating hand planes and other small tools, and concentrate on joinery practices to create moderate sized pieces of furniture. One of these days I will post some pictures of things I've done, but until then, I hope to continue to learn as much from the members here as I have in the last two years. Who knows, maybe one day I will be able to pass on some knowledge to the people here.

Cheers for now, Tom.

munruben
20th August 2010, 09:52 PM
Nice introduction Tom, welcome to the madhouse.:2tsup:

Christos
21st August 2010, 10:27 PM
Tom

You have already pass on some knowledge. About who you are. :U

Welcome to the forum.

coffenup
22nd August 2010, 07:17 PM