PDA

View Full Version : Hello and how are you?

JohnMIII
6th July 2009, 12:57 PM
My name is John, I'm from Texas if I'm from anywhere, son of a military family and 10 year vet myself, 6 years in the USMC as a helicopter mechanic and 4 in the Air Force as a maintenance officer (after graduating college). I'm currently a civilian again, learning to fly helicopters (I solo soon in a Robinson R22), eventually I want to fly for a living but I have a lot to learn there first. I'm married to a wonderful woman who is still active duty (we met in college) and we have an amazing two-year old daughter hopefully with many more to come.

I've built a few things out of wood before, but I feel like I really don't know anything about it and I'd like to learn more, starting with web research. I have a list of things I want to build for my wife and kid, and more time than I've ever had to do it. I hope you don't mind my lurking, I don't have anything to contribute really since I don't know anything about wood or woodworking, other than I can spot quality and that's hard to find in a furniture gallery these days. I'd like to build pieces that last my family generations, that's the end goal.

My other interests, in no particular order:
Fly-fishing (been doing it since I was 8, 31 now, I tie my own and build my own rods, used to teach casting)
RC sailplanes, DLG variety
RC helicopters
Riding my motorcycle (it's in Japan at our other home, long story, we move back in March 2010)
Photography (DSLR)
Building PC's and computer gaming (winter activity really)
Shooting (expert marksman with handguns and rifles)
Keeping live planted freshwater aquariums (google "takashi amano" to see what I aspire to create there)
Reading (History and Literature major in college)
Writing

My proficiencies, in no particular order:
Metalworking (specifically aircraft, though I never learned to weld :doh:)
Hydraulics troubleshooting and maintenance
Auto Mechanics
Airbrushing (certain techniques)